Peggie J. Hollingsworth

The Fourteenth Annual Lecture will be delivered on Monday, October 18, 2004, by Noam Chomsky, Institute Professor and Professor of Linguistics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  He has lectured and published extensively on linguistics, philosophy, intellectual history, contemporary issues, international affairs and U.S. foreign policy.  During the years 1958 to 1959 Chomsky was in residence at the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton, NJ.  In the spring of 1969 he delivered the John Locke Lectures at Oxford; in January 1970 he delivered the Bertrand Russell Memorial Lecture at Cambridge University; in 1972, the Nehru Memorial Lecture in New Delhi, and in 1977, the Huizinga Lecture in Leiden, among many other invited lectures.

Meetings with members of the Office of the President and of the Rackham School of Graduate Studies have resulted in considerable progress toward establishment of the Davis, Markert, Nickerson Visiting Professorship.  The professorship will be administered by the Rackham School of Graduate Studies and initial financial support will by provided by the Office of the President.  Funding of the professorships will also be part of the University’s Capital Campaign.

This year Thomas E. Moore and Wilfred Kaplan were reelected and James A. Coward was elected to three-year terms on the Fund’s Board of Directors.  At the Annual Meeting of the Fund on March 18, 2004, officers elected for 2004-2005 were Peggie J. Hollingsworth, President, Peter A. Duren, Treasure, and Louis G. D’Alecy, Secretary.

In October, 2003, Georgetown University Law Professor David A. Cole presented the University of Michigan Senate’s Thirteenth Annual Davis, Markert, Nickerson Lecture on Academic and Intellectual Freedom, entitled “Freedom and Terror: September 11th and the 21st Century Challenge” to an overflow audience of students, faculty and members of the community in the Honigman Auditorium of the Law School. This lecture was co-sponsored by AFLF, AAUP, the University Senate, the Law School, the Office of the President, the Office of the Vice President for Communications, the Office of the General Counsel, and the American Civil Liberties Union.

Click here to return to list of articles

Click here to return to list of Annual Newsletters

Click here to return to Chapter Home Page